Drake, Rick Ross, & Young Thug Support Lil Wayne after Retirement Talk

A number of rappers including Drake, Young Thug and Rick Ross have posted messages of support for Lil Wayne after the rapper suggested he might retire.

Over the weekend, Wayne tweeted that he was “defenseless and mentally defeated,” adding, “I’m dun.”

The New Orleans rapper later assured fans “I’m good y’all don’t trip” after his posts prompted responses from Chance the Rapper, Missy Elliot and Flying Lotus.

The following night, Drake brought out Wayne at his show in Houston, where Wayne shouted “Fuck Cash Money” in reference to his long-running feud with the parent label of his imprint Young Money Entertainment.

After the concert, Drizzy shared an image of Wayne’s hand gripping two Styrofoam cups.

“We are fighting until you get yours,” wrote the 6 God. “Freedom to drop music and peace of mind. I don’t know what these other weirdos are on with all the side talks but I know you gave me a shot and all I can ever do with the rest of my life is return the favor. YOUNG MONEY FOREVER.”

Rick Ross also chimed in after being asked to buy Wayne’s contract out. His response? “Get Birdman on the phone.”

Rozay has criticized Baby for the Weezy issues despite their past friendship. “I don’t know what his call was to even get into me and my son business,” Birdman said earlier this year. “[Wayne’s] my son…That shit gonna work itself out. I have the utmost respect for Ross…but it threw me off.”

In the meantime, Young Thug also shared his love for Wayne on Twitter, which might be surprising given their feud. “I promise I’m holding u down no matter what… fuck the world and what they think\feel I’m with u for life, ur the reason I rap,” Thug tweeted. “I just wish u could love me the way I love u big bro… ur my idol for life and I hope ur sorry for bashing me, not knowing how much I love u.”

Leave a Reply

